January Beholds

So firstly welcome to my blog. I set up the blog to talk about film making. I am a student film maker at the University of Derby. I want to go into art direction and editing. I currently do more than them roles at university though.

January means the start of my course. Back to second year. I found out Monday that I had to make a 3-4 minute long film on basically whatever we wanted. With some help I was able to come up with my idea.

I want to make something that would be artsy and I could play around with in editing aswell as fun to design. I started to brain storm what exactly I wanted out of it. I decided I wanted something that would show my style. I love anything dark and gothic. It’s exactly what I want to put into my film. After talking to my  very talent acting friends about what I exactly wanted from my film we came up with an idea what would be fun,different and stood out to people. I decided to make something that plays with the themes we were given in the brief. I am going for fashion,artistic,pleasure,love and joy.

I have the idea of a young women who is doing her everyday things. Shes washing up,she’s getting ready to go out and maybe in a coffee shop but she has desires and an ego she wants to bring out but is too scared. I had the vision of these flashes come up of someone biting their lip and hitting their hands with a riding crop. I want to make it artistic as possible. I want the pop ups to have a screeching sound effect along and as the film goes along I want metal music to play and to show her finally becoming the ego she wants to me. I want a quote at the start something like ‘“We are all born sexual creatures,thank God, but it’s a pity so many people despise and crush this natural gift.”
― Marilyn Monroe’

I think the idea is different but something a lot of audiences will relate too. Not only that I do want to make some people uncomfortable about it. I know it’ll be difficult Monday when it comes to explaining it without people thinking its something super dodgy and sexual when it’s just art.

I got inspiration from Thirty Seconds To Mars-Hurricane and Scarlett Johanson in Under The Skin. Artsy and shocking.

I want to be able to send this to film festivals and have something I am hugely proud of as a film maker.

Leave a Reply

